Aveda Invati Review

This is a line with perhaps the most hype and I have a lot to say about it.

Every time I walk past an Aveda salon, I see the gorgeous model with at least a few thousand dollars worth of hair extensions in the ad for this line. I kind of resent that kind of marketing because it is so blatantly untrue – even more so than the mascara commercials where the model is clearly wearing falsies. I feel that I have a better chance of having my lashes looking like falsies, but I could use Invati until the cows come home, and I’m just not going to have hair like that.

Invati is formulated specifically for people with thinning hair – mine is just thin, so I thought I would test it out anyway. The line uses actual ayurvedic ingredients to create products that can stimulate the scalp. The line does NOT say that it will cause your hair to grow – however, they do claim that the products can help reduce breakage and create an ideal environment for healthy hair growth. In fact, they did studies and found that the use of the line reduced breakage by 33%.

Statistics aside, I hated the shampoo and conditioner – they both left chalky residue in my hair that made it tangled and difficult to brush. My hair is curly and fine, and it was messy and difficult to care for after I used these products. After using the shampoo and conditioner, I actually found my hair to be mroe dry, and there was much more breakage than I was used to.

The Scalp Revitalizer however, is a winner. I don’t have more hair after a couple of weeks of using this, but I do feel as if my scalp is healthier and my hair is shinier. I just appreciate the overall look of the hair closer to my roots after using this product.

Should you invest in Invati? I think it really depends on your hair type. Those with very fine hair may have the same problems that I did. At the same time, even if you don’t have any problems, be aware that this isn’t going to make any lost hair grow back, and thus, your expectations of the product should be realistic. The shampoo and conditioner are $25 each, and the scalp revitalizer is $60.

Print Friendly

25 Responses to Aveda Invati Review

  1. Mae February 5, 2012 at 11:23 am #

    I have worked for Aveda salons and whenever they release those promo pictures, they send us educational videos and step-by-steps showing how they achieved the look— and it’s not extensions! I agree, I don’t like the invati very much; I tried it and had a bad reaction from the wintergreen derived salicylic acid in it- I have very sensitive skin… but I love all of the other products and truly believe in them… They are excellent and produce excellent results!

  2. Henna February 5, 2012 at 2:39 pm #

    Unless you had a chance to check out the model’s scalp yourself, you don’t know if they’re extensions or not. I will stand by my view that they certainly LOOK like extensions.

    And I love Aveda too! Just not this shampoo and conditioner!

  3. Azra February 6, 2012 at 8:15 am #

    I have been using this range for a couple of weeks and have to agree. My hair type is similar to yours and it feels dry with a wierd residue after using this.
    The scalp tonic feels nice to use but I havent seen any improvement in my hair so I dont think its worth the price at all

  4. Linds April 27, 2012 at 9:39 pm #

    Thanks for your review! I’ve been using the Invati shampoo and conditioner for the past month. BIG waste of money. There are actually more — not less — hairs in my drain catcher, and my scalp has been itching terribly. I think Aveda’s products are too fragranced for me…..

  5. Henna April 28, 2012 at 7:42 pm #

    Linda, too bad you weren’t able to read this review beforehand!

  6. Lydia June 4, 2012 at 8:50 pm #

    I have thinning hair from a hormone condition called Polycystic Ovarian Syndrome and am looking for something to help my hair grow back/help to keep the hair I have. I have tried Nixon, which doesn’t help stimulate hair growth, it just makes the hair shaft thicker. Has anyone tried that product AND the Adveda Invanti? Just wondering if someone thought one was better than the other.

    For those of you with thinning hair that haven’t had problems in the past, it’s probably just a temporary thing like stress or product residue bluidup on the scalp. If you’re young and just noticing this, you may want to get your hormones checked out.

  7. Henna June 6, 2012 at 6:47 pm #

    Hi Lydia

    I haven’t tried the combo and don’t have the same condition, but just keep in mind that the Invati products are topical so there’s a change that they won’t do as much. The treatment does make scalp tingle and increases circulation for a short time though so that might be worth it.

  8. Electric Jello July 9, 2012 at 11:49 pm #

    I have standard male pattern going on.
    But I bought the shampoo and the conditioner only to take a shot at it. I like the smell, so I figured what the heck.

    2 weeks later, my girlfriend said “Um you have serious small blonde hairs all over the bald areas.” I went to look and sure enough it was like an angel halo of small blonde hairs where there was just tight shiny scalp before.

    I wish the tonic wasn’t double the price of the others, otherwise I would buy it and hope that I would have a head of Fabio hair by next summer. But in the mean time, Im happy with the peach fuzz.

  9. Leah July 15, 2012 at 3:47 am #

    I bought the shampoo and received a small sample of the conditioner. My problem is scalp build-up, not thinning hair. This seems to be a scalp exfoliator, which I like. I agree that the shampoo is drying, it has to be if it contains salicylic acid, even in a botanical form. Nearly half the dandruff shampoos in the drugstore have salicylic acid, but in a higher percentage. This ingredient nearly always fades coloured hair, but I have not used this Aveda formula enough times to notice. I find the conditioner almost enough to combat the drier texture, but not quite. Brilliance finishing glossing serum makes up for it. I did not buy the scalp serum, yet.

    My response is to highlight the essential science of hair loss, which seems to be missing in the advertising and available information. Hair loss is mainly a hormonal issue (ie. male pattern thinning for men, post childbirth and menopausal hair loss in women, etc.) unless, for example, the individual is on chemotherapy or radiation treatment. The other possibility is an autoimmune response in the body which can cause severe alopecia. Iron deficicncy can thin hair, as well as a diet too low in protein, or too high in refined carbs and sugar (which can actually trigger a hormonal response). Some serious scalp damage can be caused when hydrogen peroxide or perm is left on too long, but this is something completely different.

    I would like to see Aveda come out with a pamphlet (such as Clarins provides for certain products) to highlight, in general terms, the health, lifestyle and dietary issues that are mostly responsible for a problem. This would be a really helpful and honest way to assist people putting serious money down on these products, which have a limited benefit for thinning hair unless these issues are addressed.

  10. Henna July 16, 2012 at 9:03 am #

    Great feedback, Leah, thanks for your comment!

  11. Angela July 17, 2012 at 11:28 am #

    I have second thoughts of buying Aveda Invati already. I heard good things about Floxia products though but cant find it here in the US and internet. My family lives in the Philippines and they tried to use it since its available there. The results were amazing. My cousin’s hair is thicker and shinier. I wish I can buy Floxia here in the US or internet. BTW my family cant send the products to me because it is not allowed. Floxia is made in Paris.

  12. Lori July 30, 2012 at 11:43 am #

    I have been using the Invati system for 2 weeks, and I’m already noticing a difference. I have new growth, and I know my hair is fuller. I was told that the key is you must use all 3 products every day for at least 30 days to get the desired results. I too find that it leaves my hair feeling “drier”, but I’m not really sure that it is actually drier, however, it is definitely more tangled. I use a spray leave in conditioner, like Phyto or the Aveda Brilliance products along with Aveda Smooth Infusion cream and that really helps.

    I have my first hair appointment since starting the product, this Thursday. I didn’t tell my stylist I was using it, so it will be interesting to see if she notices a change, or if it’s all in my imagination!!

  13. Zoya September 5, 2012 at 11:40 pm #

    I don’t think they’re extensions, my hair looks like this when I straighten it with drugstore products lol.

  14. Henna September 6, 2012 at 4:14 pm #

    Jealous!

  15. Lyudmila September 22, 2012 at 10:25 pm #

    I recently started using the shampoo and conditioner and I also (like some of the reviewers) find A LOT of hair in my tub after I wash it, a lot more than before. And, not only my scalp but my whole body has been itching like crazy! But I do LOVE the way my hair looks. Oh, what to do, what to do….??

  16. Mynda October 28, 2012 at 2:10 am #

    I actually found this page because I’m trying to find out the name of the model. I’m an artist and want to base some work on her face so want to find more of her portfolio. Can anyone tell me? I’ve done some searching but no luck so far…it may be super easy to find and I’ve just looked in the wrong spots :/ Any help would be appreciated!

  17. Ginny October 28, 2012 at 3:36 pm #

    I will say that I bought JOHN MASTERS ORGANICS Deep Scalp Follicle Treatment & Volumizer for thinning hair and tried it. IT REALLY WORKS!

    I bought it from drugstore.com, not really believing it would work because I am a hardcore skeptic about these things. I figured $21.00 was not alot to lose so I decided to give it a try.

    I sprayed it on top of my head in the back then thought I wouldn’t be able to see any new growth if it came in, so I sprayed an area in the front where I would be able to see growth coming in and then I forgot about it.

    Quite honestly, I only used it 1-2 times and I was AMAZED! I saw new hair growing in! About 3 weeks or more into this growth of hair my husband asked if I had cut my hair, and I told him no and showed him what I had used. He washed his hair and asked me to massage it into his bald spot so I did. Unlike with me, we kept looking for the peach fuzz to come in and it seemed like an eternity before it did. With me, I sprayed it on and forgot about it, thinking it would NOT work.

    I highly recommend this and I am not affiliated with this line or anyone in a salon.

  18. Flo November 2, 2012 at 7:15 pm #

    You guys are crazy. I’ve been using the entire Invati system for three months and I’ve actually had REGROWTH. I can’t believe it. My friends and coworkers have actually commented on how much fuller my hair looks. I love this system and now am a lifelong fan of AVEDA!!! Can’t recommend this system enough.

  19. Stacie December 8, 2012 at 4:57 pm #

    I want Zola’s hair!!! I just went to an Aveda Institute and spent 3 1/2 hrs. there, getting my hair foiled with both high lights and low lights. My issue was having frizzed hair, to start off with, due to my now “ex” hairdresser cutting someone else’s hair, while having me sit in a chair with the foils on, probably 20 minutes too long. They asked me what my main concern was, and that was it. I actually bought the invati shampoo and conditioner. Now, I’m a bit sorry I did, after reading this blog. My hair has been thin, my whole life. The girl that did my hair, acted like I was a freak, because of how fine it is. Her substitute instructor was, however, much more professional and just stated something to the effect that it’s fine hair and that she can undercut it to make it look fuller. The girl sprayed a ton of product on my hair. Okay, she’s a student and still learning, but maybe they should practice on manikin heads that have thin, fine hair, from time to time, also. Just sayin’

  20. Lily Miles January 4, 2013 at 9:34 am #

    As a child my hair was very baby thin, to many tangles, greasy, and didn’t really want to grow. I found the Shielo Volumizing Shampoo and within a week my hair wasn’t near as greasy and the tangles started to get better. Within a few months the best part about the shampoo was noticed. My hair started at my shoulders and when I went to get a trim (not even a year later) it was over halfway down my back. Sol, I got 2 inches cut off and within the next year it grew to my butt. I got it cut till about halfway down my back again and within 4 months it’s getting to my butt again. My hair is also thicker and stronger than ever before. It also seems to have more body and volume to it as well.

    My daughter turned 7 and instead of the no tear shampoo I started using Shielo Volume on her as well. Her hair was starting to be just like mine used to be so I caught this early and just within a few months her hair is already improving especially in the tangles department as well as how greasy it was.

  21. TG. January 17, 2013 at 11:52 pm #

    I am a barber and have noticed that my clients that use Invati–their hair is extremely dry. essentially, it feels like straw. after reading the above comments, i do think it is fair that i actually tell my clients about what i am noticing. Thank you all for the information and reviews. Also, i agree with the idea that with any hair restoration commercial or product, they should educate the consumer about the science behind hair loss.

  22. Cam February 27, 2013 at 8:50 am #

    My hair is curly and pretty fine, and the girl at the Eaton Centre who sold me the line made it clear that I might experience dryness, so she gave me a sample of a leave-in conditioner. I typically need moisture but hate the weight of conditioners so this combo is a winner for me. A lot of my colleagues have complimented my hair– citing fullness and general improvement. I had been using Nioxin prior, and you couldn’t pay me to switch back! I recommend the line to all at least once. My husband is in love too! We gifted it to eachother for Valentines! Haha

  23. Henna February 27, 2013 at 9:02 pm #

    Cam, using it with leave-in conditioner sounds awesome. Glad it worked for you, and thanks for sharing your tip.

  24. Lynn October 20, 2013 at 12:10 pm #

    I just tried the spray this morning, and I just can’t get past the smell! The sales person said the fragrance wouldn’t linger. I had to wash my hair with my regular shampoo and the smell is still there. If they could come up with a non-fragrant version I’d give it another go. Glad I just had a sample. BTW I also tried Nioxin a few years ago, and there was no noticeable difference. I appreciate everyone’s comments though and if there’s something else out there anyone could recommend, I’ll try it!

  25. Henna October 22, 2013 at 8:54 pm #

    Lynn, what about vitamins? I found that I did have increased hair growth when I was taking my vitamins regularly.

Leave a Reply